Grace United Church
222 Victoria St.
In 1823, the Niagara Methodist Meeting House was built on Gate Street adjoining the Methodist Cemetery. The current building, designed by William Thomas, was constructed in 1852 for the Presbyterian Church. By 1874, the Presbyterian congregation had left the church and the local Methodist congregation purchased the structure at auction. In 1925, the United Church of Canada was created. This new organization brought together Congregational, Presbyterian and Methodist churches. The Niagara-on-the-Lake congregation became Grace United Church. In 1965, Virgil United Church closed its doors and its members joined the congregation at Grace.
Mount Carmel Monastery & Cellars
720 Stanley Avenue
Niagara Falls, ON
The Carmelites, a Roman Catholic Religious Order, came to the Falls in 1875. Construction on the present Monastery building began in 1894. The original purpose was to serve as a hospice and retreat centre. In 1920, because of a decrease in interest for the hospice and an increase in vocations to the Carmelites, the building became known as Mount Carmel College Seminary. In June of 1979 the seminary was closed and the Monastery returned to its original purpose as a retreat house. It is now called Mount Carmel Spiritual Centre and serves the spiritual needs of the people of the Niagara Region and beyond.
Niagara United Mennonite Church
1775 Niagara Stone Road
The first informal organization of the United Mennonites in the Virgil area took place in 1936. In fall 1937 the decision was made to build a church on Stone Road on land donated by John Suderman. The sanctuary was completed in 1940. In 1938 the group decided to apply for a charter under the name of Niagara Mennonite Church. A formal organizational meeting took place with 38 charter members. Continued growth due to continuing immigration to the area by Mennonite refugees from Europe and South America led to construction of a new red brick building which was dedicated on 11 December 1949. The former frame building was sold to the Niagara Boy Scouts. The immigration of German-speaking Mennonite immigrants continued for several decades. Both English and German worship services at the Niagara United Mennonite Church have continued to 2019.
14 Anderson Lane
On November 17, 1977, the Niagara-on-the-Lake Public Library gained formal recognition as the first circulating library to be established in Upper Canada. The Honorable Robert Welch, the Minister of Culture and Recreation, unveiled a plaque at the front of the Library’s Court House location on picturesque Queen Street in the Old Town.
Oast House Brewers
2017 Niagara Stone Road
Just a group of industry guys, made up of a brewmaster, a winemaker & a couple of sommeliers, who plied their trades around the world and then came home to Niagara. Soon after the course was set for fulfilling a dream of creating a small batch, farmhouse-focused brewery in their rural hometown of Niagara-On-The-Lake. In 2010 a true brewery of this style did not exist in Canada, so it was felt important that the building express this unique vision. Luckily in early 2011 the iconic “big, red barn” became available and was purchased as the future home of the Niagara Oast House Brewers. This building’s rich history includes its origin as a fruit basket manufacturer in the late 1800s, a fruit packing shed, the Niagara Township Fruit Cooperative, the original Farmers’ Co-op Bank and a long time John Deere Tractor & Farm Supply Dealership. Today, it serves not only as a facility to brew great beer, but also houses a number of spaces each with their own unique feel. These include our tasting room (aka. The Beer Shed), events space (aka. The Hayloft) and Niagara’s coolest outdoor Patio.
925 Line 2 Rd.
We invite you to visit us in the heart of Niagara’s wine country: Nestled amongst the sprawling vineyards of the prestigious Four Mile Creek sub-appellation, PondView Estate Winery sits on a 50 acre grape farm that has been tended to by the Puglisi family since 1974. Our family-owned winery is headed by Luciano (Lou) Puglisi who draws on grape-growing knowledge and experience that has been handed down from one generation to the next. As you sip any one of PondView’s wines, you are tasting three generations of grape growing and winemaking experience. The Puglisi family story begins in Sicily, many years ago… The family first grew vines and produced their own wine, as many Italians did. When Giuseppe Puglisi emigrated to Canada in 1965, he brought with him his passion for grape growing and winemaking. His son Lou has been passed the torch, and now carries on the family tradition. He has embraced this traditional art form and has cultivated some of the finest wines in the Niagara Region. Lou’s enthusiasm and respect for the winemaking process, alongside his dedication and commitment to excellence, earned him the prestigious title of Grape King in 2008, awarded by the Ministry of Agriculture to the finest vineyard operator in Ontario. In celebration of Niagara’s unique topography, soils and climate we refer to our estate vineyard as BELLA TERRA or “beautiful land”, which is also the name of our premium single vineyard reserve wines.
Ravine Estates Winery
1366 York Road
Norma Jane (Lowrey) Harber grew up on this farm and has always been sensitive to the subtleties of its terrain. Ever since her great – grandfather David Jackson Lowrey bought the upper farm in 1867, it has been a source of pride for the Lowrey family. This pride has been fostered within their winemaking team. Martin Werner and Ben Minkaker have a deep desire to lovingly preserve and maintain the amazing property.
Royal Canadian Legion Branch 124
410 King Street
Branch 124 of the Royal Canadian Legion’s mission is to serve Veterans and their dependants, promote Remembrance and to act in the service of Canada and its communities.
Queen Street and King Street
Simcoe Park offers a wading pool, bandshell, picnic tables, washrooms and playground equipment. It is a perfect place for families and friends to spend an afternoon.
St. Mark’s Anglican Church
41 Byron Street
St. Mark’s has a rich, historic past, dating back to 1790, when two residents wrote to Bishop Inglis of Nova Scotia requesting that a clergyman be sent to minister to the residents of the new village. The following year, the Reverend Robert Addison was commissioned as missionary and minister at Niagara. The Church and indeed the whole Diocese of Niagara owe their origins to his pioneer work. Throughout their long and colorful history across four centuries, the people of St. Mark’s have remained true to their calling. They have worked together to sustain and enhance their buildings and property. They have worshiped together in times of stress and in times of celebration.
Countermeasure, Odin String Quartet, Janina Fialkowska, Young Virtuosos 1, Last Night of the Proms, Young Virtuosos 2, Timothy Chooi, Sofya Gulyak & Victoria Kogan, Andrew Wan & Charles Richard-Hamelin, Pavel Šporcl, Hilario Duran, Ilya Poeltave, All Beethoven
The Hare Wine Co.
769 Niagara Stone Road
Our winery story begins at the end of the American Revolution when Colonel John Butler’s Rangers disbanded and many of them were granted land in the Niagara Township as a reward for their services. These petitions were the inspiration for our Crown Land Collection as our property was deeded as Lot 171 and granted to Nathanial Hanes by the crown on May 16, 1798 who became one of many settlers who opened up a frontier of fertile farming in Niagara. Now, two centuries later, The Hare Wine Co. celebrates the noble and historical bounty of not only our property, now home to our estate winery vineyard, but also that of the entire region. John Hare’s family has been in the wine industry in Europe as far back as the early 1900’s. The family still owns and operates 80 acres of vineyards in Kochovo, Bulgaria, supplying quality grapes to the two local wineries in the village.